clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Report: Patriots Name 2011 Captains

According to Ian Rapoport of the Boston Herald, the Patriots have named their captains for the 2011 season. They are as follows:

  1. Tom Brady, QB, #12
  2. Vince Wilfork, NT, #75
  3. Jerod Mayo, LB, #51
  4. Devin McCourty, CB, #32
  5. Logan Mankins, G, #70
  6. Matthew Slater, WR/ST, #18

My thoughts:

  • The no-brainers on this list and repeat captains from 2010 are Brady, Wilfork, and Mayo. Logan Mankins wasn't a captain in 2010 because of his holdout, but he could likely be thrown into the "no-brainer" category as well. All four of these guys are among the very best in the league at what they do, and have been real leaders for the team on and off the field.
  • Devin McCourty, in just his second season, is already a captain. I think that not only speaks a lot about the progress he's made as a player, but as a mature individual on and off the field. I spoke with one on one with McCourty after one practice in training camp, and he seemed like a very smart individual who looked ready to assume a leadership role.
  • It's also really nice to see Matthew Slater on here. Over the past few years, Slater has been consistently underrated by most (including myself) as a special teams player. It's nice to see him get this recognition, something he certainly deserves.