clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

New England Patriots sign seven players to future contracts

Russ Isabella-US PRESSWIRE

The New England Patriots announced that they have signed seven players to future contracts. This list includes their entire practice squad, except for defensive lineman Marcus Forston.

Patriots sign seven players to future contracts
The New England Patriots have signed OL Braxton Cave, T Jordan Devey, WR Reggie Dunn, OL R.J. Mattes, RB Sam McGuffie, WR Greg Orton and LB Taylor Reed to future contracts today. All seven of those players ended the season on the New England practice squad.

The Patriots must be confident in these seven players and the work they put in from the practice squad this season. These names never receive any glory from the fans or media, but they are crucial to the team's success in terms of preparing for an opponent.

For example, wide receiver Reggie Dunn was signed in order to play the role of T.Y. Hilton when the Patriots were preparing for the Indianapolis Colts. That actually became a known story, but I'm sure there were many others lost over the course of the season.

Marcus Forston was signed by the Patriots through the 2013 season, and even spent some time on the active roster in 2012, but he may not be meeting the team's expectations considering they have elected not to retain him.