clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Patriots Announce Team Captains, Including Tom Brady

The Patriots have announced who will be leading the team for the 2014 season.

Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports

ESPN's Field Yates has released the list of Patriots captains for the 2014 season.

The offensive captains will be quarterback Tom Brady and lineman Dan Connolly.

The defensive captains will be lineman Vince Wilfork, linebacker Jerod Mayo, and defensive back Devin McCourty.

The special teams captain will be Matthew Slater.

Brady will be captain for his 13th straight season and shouldn't have come as a surprise. Dan Connolly is now the captain of the offensive line, taking over for the recently departed Logan Mankins. Connolly will be expected to step up in a vocal leadership role.

Wilfork is the longest standing defensive member on the roster and will be captain for his 5th season as captain. Mayo is returning from a season ending injury, but, like Wilfork, will be a captain for his 5th straight season. McCourty is going to be captain for his 4th straight year, although he took a short hiatus last season before injuries re-earned his captaincy.

Slater will be the special teams captain for his 4th straight season.

2013 interim captain Rob Ninkovich did not get re-elected.