clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Patriots Announce Team Captains: Dan Connolly the newest addition

The Patriots have announced their team captains for the 2014 season.

Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

According to Field Yates of ESPN Boston, the New England Patriots have named their six captains for the 2014 NFL season:

Tom Brady, Jerod Mayo, Vine Wilfork, Devin McCourty, and Matt Slater were all captains in 2013 - although Mayo and Wilfork were replaced by McCourty and Rob Ninkovich after they went down for the year.

The new addition to this group is veteran lineman Dan Connolly. Connolly's leadership along a relatively young offensive line has certainly been downplayed the last couple of years. With Logan Mankins now in Tampa Bay, this reflects where Connolly stands in the locker room. Connolly will be a starter this year, it's really just a question of where.

As is Patriots' custom, captains will not don the "C" patch that many NFL teams have their players wear.