clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2014 NFL Awards: Tom Brady Earns One MVP Vote

The Patriots quarterback might not have won the award, but he received consideration.

Stew Milne-USA TODAY Sports

The New England Patriots quarterback might not have won an individual award this season, unlike his unanimously All Pro tight end, but at least Tom Brady received some recognition as the league's most valuable player.

And by some recognition, I mean one vote. One recognition.

Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers was the deserving runaway victor of the award, receiving 31 of the 50 votes. Rodgers threw for 38 touchdowns, versus a mere 5 interceptions. His Packers team collapsed in the NFC Conference Championship game against the reigning Super Bowl champion Seattle Seahawks. This is Rodgers second MVP award.

Texans defensive lineman J.J. Watt placed second with 13 votes.

Cowboys teammates quarterback DeMarco Murray and quarterback Tony Romo split two votes apiece.

Brady earned a solitary vote, along with Seahawks linebacker Bobby Wagner. These two players will be fighting for a more important award on Sunday- and who knows, maybe they'll earn the Super Bowl MVP award.