clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2016 Pro Football Hall of Fame Class Announced

Yesterday, at the NFL's honors ceremony, the league announced the 2016 Hall of Fame class.

Harry How/Getty Images

Yesterday, the NFL Honors took place. One of the elements of the primetime show was the announcement of the 2016 Pro Football Hall of Fame class. Six players, one coach and one team owner were added to the ranks of those, without whom the history of the NFL cannot be written (at least in theory).

That being said, let's take a look at the newest Hall of Fame enshrinees:

Edward DeBartolo Jr.

Active: 1977-2000
Team: San Francisco 49ers

In 1977, DeBartolo became owner of the San Francisco 49ers. In the 23 years he owned the team, the 49ers reached and won five Super Bowls and established themselves as one of the NFL's dynasties in the 1980s. The 69-year old ceded ownership of the franchise to his sister in 2000, following his involvement in a corruption scandal.

Tony Dungy

Active: 1996-2008
Teams: Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Indianapolis Colts

Dungy spent the first six seasons of his head coaching career with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers. He led the team to the playoffs four times but left after the 2001 season, joining the Indianapolis Colts. During his seven-year tenure in Indiana, the Colts won five division titles and Super Bowl XLI, making Dungy the first African American head coach to win a Super Bowl.

Brett Favre

Active: 1991-2010
Teams: Atlanta Falcons, Green Bay Packers, New York Jets, Minnesota Vikings

Favre is the only member of the 2016 class to be elected in his first year of eligibility. He was originally drafted by the Atlanta Falcons in 1991 but one year later was traded to the Green Bay Packers, with whom he spent the next 16 seasons of his career. Favre was named MVP three times and led the Packers to two Super Bowls, winning Super Bowl XXXI. After a one-year stint with the New York Jets in 2008, he played the last two seasons of his illustrious career with the Minnesota Vikings. When Favre retired in 2010, he held numerous NFL records including touchdown passes (508), interceptions (336), yards (71,838) and consecutive starts (321).

Kevin Greene

Active: 1985-1999
Teams: Los Angeles Rams, Pittsburgh Steelers, Carolina Panthers, San Francisco 49ers

Despite having registered the third most official sacks of all time (160; sacks were not tracked prior to the 1982 season), Greene was not elected to the Hall of Fame until his 13th year of eligibilty. The linebacker played the first eight seasons of his career for the Los Angeles Rams before spending the next seven years with the Pittsburgh Steelers, Carolina Panthers and San Francisco 49ers. He was a three time All-Pro and a member of the NFL's team of the 1990s.

Marvin Harrison

Active: 1996-2008
Team: Indianapolis Colts

In his 13-year career, spent entirely with the Indianapolis Colts, Harrison became one of the most prolific wide receivers of all time. Currently, he is third all time in receptions (1,102), fifth in receiving touchdowns (128) and seventh in receiving yards (14,580). Harrison was voted to the team of the 2000s and was a member of the Colts' Super Bowl XLI-winning team.

Orlando Pace

Active: 1997-2009
Teams: St. Louis Rams, Chicago Bears

Pace was drafted first overall by the St. Louis Rams in 1995. He played 12 seasons for the franchise and was one of the best offensive tackles of his era. Pace was voted to four All-Pro teams, to the NFL's 2000s team and won Super Bowl XXXIV. He played the last season of his career with the Chicago Bears.

Ken Stabler

Active: 1970-1984
Teams: Oakland Raiders, Houston Oilers, New Orleans Saints

After starting his career in the CFL, Stabler was the Oakland Raiders' quarterback from 1970 until 1979. With the team, Stabler, who passed away last year, won Super Bowl XI, was named league MVP in 1974 and led the league in touchdown passes twice (1974, 1976). Despite his rather pedestrian statistics – 194 touchdowns, 221 interceptions, 59.8 completion percentage – he was voted to the NFL's team of the 1970s and now to the Hall of Fame as a senior nominee.

Dick Stanfel

Active: 1952-1958
Teams: Detroit Lions, Washington Redskins

The second senior nominee to be voted to the Hall of Fame this year, Stanfel was a member of both the Detroit Lions (1952-1955) and Washington Redskins (1956-1958). The guard, who won two NFL championships with the Lions, was voted to five All Pro teams and is a member of the NFL's team of the 1950s. As the Chicago Bears' offensive line coach, Stanfel, who passed away in 2015, won a Super Bowl ring in 1985.


What do you think of the 2016 Hall of Fame class? Who should have made it, who shouldn't?