clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Patriots All-Time Great Bracket Challenge

Greg M. Cooper-USA TODAY Sports

Since we're in the middle of the NCAA tournament, I thought it would be a fun idea to do something similar except with All-Time Patriots Greats. This will have it's own separate story stream. How this will work is that the match-ups will be based on a popular vote for a week's worth of time. Whoever gets the most votes will advance to the next round. This is the seeding for this All-Time Great Challenge, in which current QB Tom Brady is the expected winner:

Seed East North West South
1 Bruce Armstrong Gino Cappelletti Tom Brady John Hannah
2 Andre Tippett Ty Law Willie McGinest Mike Haynes
3 Bob Dee Matt Light Tedy Bruschi Jim Lee Hunt
4 Nick Buoniconti Steve Nelson Logan Mankins Richard Seymour
5 Stanley Morgan Mike Vrabel Drew Bledsoe Wes Welker
6 Ben Coates Rodney Harrison Russ Francis Steve Grogan
7 Vince Wilfork Babe Parilli Sam Cunningham Houston Antwine
8 Troy Brown Jim Nance Ted Johnson Sam Adams
9 Devin McCourty Adam Vinatieri Lawyer Milloy Kevin Faulk
10 Jon Morris Rob Gronkowski Julian Edelman Leon Gray
11 Fred Marion Larry Eisenhauer Matthew Slater Julius Adams
12 Irving Fryar Jim Colclough Lonie Paxton Deion Branch
13 Randy Moss Ron Hall Stephen Neal Raymond Clayborn
14 Dan Koppen Terry Glenn Shane Vereen Tom Addison
15 Jerod Mayo Rob Ninkovich Corey Dillon Stephen Gostkowski
16 Larry Izzo David Givens Patrick Chung Malcolm Butler

There are probably some names on here that most people here can't remember likely due to either age since some of these players were part of the original Boston Patriots AFL Franchise. Most of these players were pulled from the Patriots Hall of Fame, All-Decade Teams, as well as the Super Bowl-Winning Teams of 2001, 2003, 2004, and 2014. The first round will start tomorrow.