clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

MVP Discussion: Warriors PG Stephen Curry is about to be the Tom Brady and Wayne Gretzky of basketball

New, comments

The Golden State Warriors' All Star is about to match the New England Patriots star quarterback.

I'm not saying that Golden State Warriors point guard Stephen Curry is anywhere near New England Patriots quarterback Tom Brady over the scope of their careers.

But Curry just matched Brady in the MVP discussion.

In 2010, Brady became the first player to ever be named the unanimous Most Valuable Player of the National Football League after leading the Patriots to a 14-2 record and setting a new record of 335 consecutive passes without an interception.

The fact that Brady didn't win the MVP in a unanimous decision in 2007 is disgusting (Brett Farve, really?!), while Brady (2013) and Michael Vick (2004) blocked Peyton Manning from ever winning the award with all the votes.

So Brady ranks alone in the NFL as the only player in league history to be the unanimous league MVP.

And now Steph Curry has achieved the same mark for the NBA.

Prior to this season, no player in the history of the National Basketball Association had won the MVP trophy with all of the first place votes. Shaquille O'Neal (99-00) and LeBron James (12-13) are the only two other players to have come close, with both collecting all but one first place vote. Allen Iverson blocked O'Neal, while Carmelo Anthony stole the vote from James.

Curry led the Warriors to a 73-9 record, the best mark in NBA history, while setting the NBA record for most three pointers in a single season, along with leading the league in points per game, steals per game, and free throw shooting percentage.

This marks the second-straight MVP award for Curry as he tries to win his second-straight NBA title. He has a long ways to go before he matches Brady in accolades, but a unanimous MVP award is a great place to start.

Hockey great Wayne Gretzky won the first and only unanimous NHL MVP award in 1982. Major League Baseball awards two MVPs every season, one for the American League and one for the National League, with seventeen players considered unanimous winners- most recently Nationals outfielder Bryce Harper in 2015 and Angels outfielder Mike Trout in 2014.