clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Week 12 Patriots vs Dolphins inactives: Malcom Brown returns; Mike Gillislee a healthy scratch again

Take a look at those players, who won't suit up today.

NFL: New England Patriots at Tampa Bay Buccaneers Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

In a little more than 90 minutes, the New England Patriots will play their 11th game of the season. The defending world champions, who currently hold a 8-2 record, will host the 4-6 Miami Dolphins in Foxboro's Gillette Stadium. The team will do just that without the following players, who have been declared inactive:

OC David Andrews

TE Martellus Bennett

OT Marcus Cannon

RB Mike Gillislee

WR Chris Hogan

CB Eric Rowe

WR Matthew Slater

David Andrews, Marcus Cannon and Chris Hogan have already been ruled out as part of Friday's final injury report of the week, while Martellus Bennett was expected to be a no-go due to his status as “doubtful”. The replacements for the four injured players are the usual candidates: Ted Karras will replace Andrews, LaAdrian Waddle will slide into Cannon's spot. Hogan and Bennett, on the other hand, will likely be replaced by a mix of running backs and depth.

Eric Rowe and Matthew Slater will also miss another week due to their shoulder and hamstring injuries, respectively. Second-year man Jonathan Jones will again help fill both players' roles on defense and special teams. One of the players listed as an inactive is a healthy scratch: Mike Gillislee, who is inactive for the third straight game. Dion Lewis will therefore once again serve as the Patriots' top running back option.

From the good news department, Malcom Brown is returning to the lineup after a three-game absence. With fellow defensive tackle Ricky Jean-Francois also active, the Patriots might opt to limit Brown's snapcount during his return from injury. Recently added defensive edge Eric Lee is also active and give his Patriots debut.

The Dolphins' inactives look as follows:

QB Jay Cutler

DB Maurice Smith

CB Torry McTyer

OG Isaac Asiata

OT Jermon Bushrod

WR Rashawn Scott

DE William Hayes