clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Patriots secure record 17th straight winning season by defeating Dolphins

The Patriots break a three-team tie with the 49ers and Cowboys.

Los Angeles Chargers v New England Patriots Photo by Jim Rogash/Getty Images

Yesterday's, 35-17 New England Patriots victory over the Miami Dolphins improved the team's 2017 regular season record to 9-2. It also secured the team yet another winning season; the 17th straight to be exact – a feat no other team has accomplished since the AFL-NFL merger in 1970.

Entering the 2017 campaign, the defending world champions have celebrated 16 straight winning seasons, which tied them with the only other two clubs in the history of the modern NFL to keep their success running for an equally long time: The Dallas Cowboys registered winning records each year between the 1970 and the 1985 seasons; the San Francisco 49ers did the same from 1983 to 1998.

Now, a new benchmark has been set by the Patriots, who had their last non-winning season in 2000 when Bill Belichick was in his first year as the team's head coach. During their dynastic run, the team also won five Super Bowls – the most by a single head coach and quarterback (Tom Brady) – and set numerous other records. All in an era designed for parity.

Enjoy this one, Patriots fans, you are witnessing something truly special.