clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2016 NFL awards tracker: Who won MVP, Offensive Player of the Year, and more!

The Patriots were shut out in their attempt at winning regular season awards.

The NFL is announcing their regular season winners for the various awards, such as Most Valuable Player, Offensive Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, and more. We will be posting the updates as they are available.

The New England Patriots are not expected to win any awards, with Atlanta Falcons QB Matt Ryan and Dallas Cowboys head coach Jason Garrett expected to edge out QB Tom Brady and coach Bill Belichick for MVP and coach of the year.

The Awards

Most Valuable Player: Atlanta Falcons QB Matt Ryan

Offensive Player of the Year: Atlanta Falcons QB Matt Ryan

Defensive Player of the Year: Oakland Raiders EDGE Khalil Mack

Offensive Rookie of the Year: Dallas Cowboys QB Dak Prescott

Defensive Rookie of the Year: San Diego Chargers EDGE Joey Bosa

Comeback Player of the Year: Green Bay Packers WR Jordy Nelson

Coach of the Year: Dallas Cowboys HC Jason Garrett

Assistant Coach of the Year: Atlanta Falcons OC Kyle Shanahan

A big surprise is Cowboys rookie QB Dak Prescott receiving the nod over fellow teammate RB Ezekiel Elliott. Elliott was earning consideration for MVP, which makes Prescott’s win at OROY even more of a surprise.

Patriots HC Bill Belichick finished second in Coach of the Year voting with 14 votes. Garrett won with 25. Dolphins HC Adam Gase earned 6 votes, Raiders HC Jack Del Rio received 4 voted, and Chiefs HC Andy Reid earned 1 vote.

Ryan unsurprisingly defeated Patriots QB Tom Brady to earn league MVP.