clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

3 former Patriots are finalists for the NFL Hall of Fame Class of 2018

Well, two and then a bonus player.

Seattle Seahawks v New England Patriots Photo by Ezra Shaw/Getty Images

The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced the finalists for the Class of 2018, with the final selection taking place the day prior to Super Bowl LII. There were three former members of the New England Patriots named among the 15 finalists after five former Patriots made the semifinalist cut to 27 players.

The three players are:

1. CB Ty Law

Law was a finalist last season and faces tough competition again this year. The All Pro cornerback spent a decade with the Patriots before stints with the New York Jets, Kansas City Chiefs, and Denver Broncos.

2. WR Randy Moss

Moss is a finalist in his first season of eligibility and he should be considered a favorite to be enshrined this year. He’s considered the most physically imposing receiver in NFL history (other than maybe Calvin Johnson) and has his name all over the records book.

3. S John Lynch

Lynch spent a couple weeks with the Patriots in the summer of 2008, so you can’t forget him! The general manager of the San Francisco 49ers leveraged those couple of weeks in New England into a franchise quarterback by the name of Jimmy Garoppolo, so it’s clear Lynch has game on and off the field.

The two other Patriots that were eliminated in these cutdowns were defensive lineman Richard Seymour and wide receiver Torry Holt. This is an incredibly stacked class of talent.

Brian Dawkins, Steve Hutchinson, Edgerrin James, Ray Lewis, Randy Moss, Terrell Owens, and Brian Urlacher all have extremely strong cases to be inducted this year, as do all the others. Everson Walls is Bill Belichick’s go-to defensive back when reminiscing about the New York Giants, so he’s worth considering, too.