clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Patriots sign running back Kenneth Farrow to fill their final practice squad spot

New England bolsters its running back depth.

San Diego Chargers v Cleveland Browns Photo by Wesley Hitt/Getty Images

The New England Patriots have plenty of depth across their roster, but one position is not as deep as it should be: running back. After re-signing Kenjon Barner yesterday, the team now has three backs on its active roster with first-round rookie Sony Michel and veteran James White as the clear one-two punch. New England therefore added another layer of depth today by signing Kenneth Farrow to its practice squad (according to ESPN’s Field Yates).

Farrow had been with the Patriots twice before: New England originally signed him late during the preseason but let him go again on roster cutdown day. Two weeks later, he returned to the team via its practice squad but again was released shortly afterwards. Now, he is back to fill the team’s final practice squad spot – one that was previously occupied by fellow running back Ralph Webb.

After a productive career at Houston, Kenneth Farrow went undrafted in 2016. The then-San Diego Chargers picked him up as a free agent, and he was able to make the team as a reserve back. Injuries pushed Farrow up the depth chart and led to the versatile back appearing in 13 of the Chargers’ games during his rookie year. Before seeing his season end with a shoulder injury in December, he amassed 73 touches for 262 yards.

The 5’9, 220 lbs back was unable to bounce back from the injury in 2017 and spent all of it on injured reserve as well. In April, the Chargers elected to release Farrow and he remained on the open market until New England signed him on August 27. Before getting waived on cutdown day, the 25-year old appeared in one preseason contest and registered five rushes for 24 yards while playing 16 offensive snaps.

With Farrow now back in the mix, the Patriots’ practice squad looks as follows:

TE Stephen Anderson

QB Danny Etling

RB Kenneth Farrow

OL James Ferentz

DT Trent Harris

DT Frank Herron

DB David Jones

LB Calvin Munson

OT Eric Smith

CB Jomal Wiltz