clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Former Patriots wide receiver Randy Moss voted into Pro Football Hall of Fame

The ex-Patriot will be inducted into the Hall of Fame later this year.

New England Patriots v New York Jets Photo By Rob Tringali/SportsChrome/Getty Images

As is tradition, the Pro Football Hall of Fame class is announced on the eve of the Super Bowl. Two former members of the New England Patriots were up for election this year and while one, cornerback Ty Law, was not able to make it, another ex-Patriots was: wide receiver Randy Moss, who was with the team from 2007 until midway through the 2010 season.

During his tenure in New England, Moss caught 259 passes for 3,904 and 50 touchdowns – including an NFL-record 23 during the 2007 season. The four-time All Pro receiver originally entered the league as a first-round draft pick by the Minnesota Vikings and also spent time with the Oakland Raiders before joining the Patriots in 2007 as a focal point of one of the NFL's best-ever offenses.

In 2010, New England traded Moss back to the Minnesota Vikings before ending his career with the Tennessee Titans and San Francisco 49ers. Over the course of his 14 seasons in the NFL, he caught 982 passes for 15,292 yards and 156 touchdowns.

The following players will join Moss in the Hall of Fame:

Ray Lewis

Brian Urlacher

Brian Dawkins

Terrell Owens

Jerry Kramer

Robert Brazile

Bobby Beathard

Moss will join Patriots greats John Hannah, Nick Buoniconti, Mike Haynes and Andre Tippett in the Hall of Fame.

Ty Law did reach the final ten players up for consideration for the second straight season. He will continue to be a strong candidate moving forward.