clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2017-18 NFL Awards tracker: New England Patriots QB Tom Brady named MVP

The Patriots quarterback is the most valuable player in the NFL.

AFC Championship: Jacksonville Jaguars Vs. New England Patriots At Gillette Stadium Photo by Matthew J. Lee/The Boston Globe via Getty Images

New England Patriots quarterback Tom Brady was named the NFL’s Most Valuable Player for the 2017-18 season during Saturday’s awards ceremony. This is Brady’s third MVP award, along with his 2007 and 2010 awards.

Brady was named first team All Pro for his performance in 2017, completing 385 of a league-leading 581 passing attempts (66.3%) for a league-best 4,577 passing yards, along with 32 touchdowns and 8 interceptions for a passer rating of 102.8. Brady led the Patriots to a 13-3 record, tied for the best in the NFL.

The Patriots quarterback received 40 of the 50 votes from the Associated Press. Wide receiver Julian Edelman accepted the award on Brady’s behalf because Brady was unable to attend because he is preparing for the Super Bowl.

Rams running back Todd Gurley received 8 votes and Eagles quarterback Carson Wentz received the final 2 votes.

Defensive Player of the Year: Rams DT Aaron Donald (23 votes)
Mentions: Jaguars DL Calais Campbell (17 votes), Cardinals DE Chandler Jones (5), Saints DL Cam Jordan (1), Vikings S Harrison Smith (1), Cowboys DE DeMarcus Lawrence (1), Vikings CB Xavier Rhodes (1), Seahawks LB Bobby Wagner (1)

Offensive Player of the Year: Rams RB Todd Gurley (37 votes)
Mentions: Steelers WR Antonio Brown (8 votes), Patriots QB Tom Brady (4), Texans WR DeAndre Hopkins (1)

Offensive Rookie of the Year: Saints RB Alvin Kamara (28 votes)
Mentions: Chiefs RB Kareem Hunt (21 votes), Texans QB Deshaun Watson (1)

Defensive Rookie of the Year: Saints CB Marshon Lattimore (45 votes)
Mentions: Bills CB Tre’Davious White (4 votes), 49ers LB Reuben Foster (1)

Comeback Player of the Year: Chargers WR Keenan Allen (28 votes)
Mentions: Vikings QB Case Keenum (8 votes), 14 votes to be determined

Assistant Coach of the Year: Vikings OC Pat Shurmur (24.5 votes)
Mentions: Patriots DC Matt Patricia (4 votes), Saints DC Dennis Allen (4), Rams DC Wade Phillips (4), 13.5 votes to be determined

Coach of the Year: Rams HC Sean McVay (35 votes)
Mentions: Vikings HC Mike Zimmer (11 votes), Jaguars HC Doug Marrone (2), Eagles HC Doug Pederson (1), Patriots HC Bill Belichick (1)

Most Valuable Player: Patriots QB Tom Brady (40 votes)
Mentions: Rams RB Todd Gurley (8 votes), Eagles QB Carson Wentz (2)