clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2019 NFL playoffs Patriots vs Chargers: Ron Torbert named referee for Sunday’s divisional round game

Torbert was the referee for last year’s Patriots divisional round game as well.

NFL: San Diego Chargers at Carolina Panthers Bob Donnan-USA TODAY Sports

On Sunday, the New England Patriots will enter the 2018 NFL playoffs when the host the Los Angeles Chargers for the two teams’ divisional round game. The defending AFC champions and second seed in the conference will also welcome referee Ron Torbert to Gillette Stadium. As first reported by Football Zebras, the fifth-year referee will call the game between the Patriots and Chargers.

The website had to say the following about Torbert:

Ron Torbert is the referee, who is in his 9th season and 5th as referee. This is Torbert’s 7th postseason assignment, including 3 Wild Card Playoffs and 4 Divisional Playoffs; he has received a playoff assignment in every year he was eligible.

Torbert did not work a Patriots game this season, but was the referee for the team’s divisional playoff game against the Tennessee Titans last year. New England was flagged four times during the contest, losing 37 yards as a result, while the Titans lost 62 yards on 10 penalties. Overall, it was Torbert’s fourth assignment to a Patriots game over the course of his career as a referee.

For comparison, Torbert called one Chargers games this season: in week four against the San Francisco 49ers, he called five infractions against the team for a loss of 49 yards.

The entire crew for Saturday’s game, which as usual for the postseason is an all-star ensemble, looks as follows (original crew of each member in parenthesis):

R 62 Ron Torbert

U 49 Rich Hall (Alex Kemp)

DJ 53 Sarah Thomas (Ron Torbert)

LJ 84 Mark Steinkerchner (Ron Torbert)

FJ 126 Brad Rogers (Shawn Smith)

SJ 3 Scott Roberts (Ron Torbert)

BJ 105 Dino Paganelli (Shawn Smith)

Replay official: Mike Chase

Replay assistant: Marv LeBlanc

Alternates: Pete Morelli (R), Walt Coleman IV (LJ), Jabir Walker (SJ)