clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Here are the 3 finalists for 2019 Patriots Hall of Fame

The Patriots trio all have a great chance of making the team’s Hall of Fame.

Super Bowl XXXVIII: Panthers v Patriots Photo by Ronald Martinez/Getty Images

The New England Patriots announced the three finalists for the team’s 2019 Hall of Fame. A 23-person committee selected Mike Vrabel, Richard Seymour, and Rodney Harrison as the three players nominated for the honor.

Vrabel has been a finalist each of the last four years, while Seymour has been a finalist in each of his three years of his Patriots Hall of Fame eligibility. Harrison is a first-time finalist after Matt Light was inducted in 2018.

Seymour, for his part, thinks all three should get in at the same time.

What do you think?


Which player should get in the Patriots Hall of Fame for 2019?

This poll is closed

  • 31%
    Mike Vrabel
    (188 votes)
  • 41%
    Richard Seymour
    (248 votes)
  • 27%
    Rodney Harrison
    (167 votes)
603 votes total Vote Now

Below are excerpts from the team’s official press release.

Mike Vrabel

Vrabel is recognized as one of the best free agent signings in team history. He joined the team prior to the 2001 season. [...] During his eight-year tenure in New England, Vrabel played a major role in the Patriots dynamic run that included three Super Bowls in four years (2001, 2003 and 2004). As a Patriot, he caught eight regular-season passes and two more in the playoffs. All 10 of his receptions were for touchdowns, including touchdown receptions in back-to-back Super Bowl wins over the Carolina Panthers in Super Bowl XXVIII and Philadelphia Eagles in Super Bowl XXXIX. He was a four-time team captain, including during the 2006 season when the defense set a franchise record by allowing just 14.8 points per game and just 237 points – the fewest by the Patriots in a 16-game season. His 48 career sacks with the team are the seventh-most in franchise history. In 2009, he was voted to the Patriots 50th Anniversary Team as an outside linebacker along with Andre Tippett and the 2000s All-Decade Team along with Willie McGinest.

Richard Seymour

Seymour spent the first eight seasons of his 12-year NFL career with the Patriots and played an important role in delivering six division titles, four conference crowns and three Super Bowl championships to New England. He was named to five straight Pro Bowls with the Patriots (2002-06) and earned three straight first team All-Pro honors (2003-05). His five Pro Bowl berths are the most by any Patriots defensive lineman since the 1970 NFL merger. He was also a four-time team co-captain. In 2009, he was voted to the Patriots 50th Anniversary Team and the 2000s All-Decade Team. Earlier this year, Seymour was one of 15 finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2019.

Rodney Harrison

Harrison played the final six seasons of his 15-year NFL career with the Patriots after spending his first nine seasons with the San Diego Chargers. [...[He is the all-time leader in sacks by a defensive back with 30½, including nine during his time with the Patriots. He is the only defensive back in NFL history with 30 sacks and 30 interceptions, with eight of those picks coming during his Patriots career. Harrison was voted a team captain in each of his six seasons with the Patriots.