clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ex-Patriots defensive tackle Richard Seymour named one of 15 Pro Football Hall of Fame finalists

Seymour has made the cut for the second straight year.

Cincinnati Bengals v New England Patriots Photo by Jim Rogash/Getty Images

On the eve of Super Bowl 53, former New England Patriots cornerback Ty Law was voted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. But while the three-time Super Bowl winner finally earned the famed gold jacket, one of his former teammates and fellow finalists was denied the honor for the time being: former defensive lineman Richard Seymour missed the cut in his first year of eligibility. He will have another chance in 2020, however.

As was announced by the Hall of Fame on Thursday, Seymour once again has made the cut as one of the 15 finalists for induction — a list that also includes short-time offseason Patriots Torry Holt, Reggie Wayne and John Lynch. On February 1, Seymour and the other finalists will be voted on in two rounds and subsequently notified of their status and whether or not they have made it into pro football’s hallowed halls.

The Patriots’ first-round selection in 2001, Seymour spent the first eight seasons of his 12-year career in New England and appeared in 126 games for the franchise before getting traded to the Oakland Raiders in 2009. He played a key role in the New England’s first three Super Bowl-winning runs, was voted to seven Pro Bowls and named to the NFL’s team of the 2000s. He also is a member of both the Patriots’ team of the 2000s and the franchise’s 50th anniversary team.

The full list of Hall of Fame finalists looks as follows:

DB Steve Atwater

OL Tony Boselli

WR Isaac Bruce

DB Leroy Butler

OL Alan Faneca

WR Torry Holt

OL Steve Hutchinson

DB John Lynch

RB Edgerrin James

LB Sam Mills

DB Troy Polamalu

DT Richard Seymour

LB Zach Thomas

WR Reggie Wayne

DT Bryant Young