clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Trent Brown and Kyle Van Noy already appear to be off the Patriots’ PUP list

Related: Patriots add Trent Brown, Kyle Van Noy to PUP list

New England Patriots Practice Photo by Jonathan Wiggs/The Boston Globe via Getty Images

The New England Patriots kicked off their 2021 training camp on Wednesday morning, but not every member of their 91-man roster was present at the start of the first session. In fact, twelve players were not spotted when practice began.

While the list of absentees did not include any noticeable surprises based on the information already released the previous few days, two players who actually were on the field stood out: offensive tackle Trent Brown and linebacker Kyle Van Noy were present just one day after getting placed on the physically unable to perform list.

Official confirmation of their status will not come until later, but the fact that they were at practice alongside their teammates is an indication that both have already been removed off PUP again.

While Brown did not appear to be hampered in any way at the start of practice, Van Noy was wearing a red jersey as opposed to the regular blue one donned by defensive players. Red jerseys, which are traditionally also worn by quarterbacks, indicate players not to be touched or cleared for physical contribution.

With Brown and Van Noy seemingly off the reserve list, seven players remain on the list for the time being — all of them absent for Wednesday’s practice. The biggest name on that list is cornerback Stephon Gilmore, who is joined on PUP by quarterback Jarrett Stidham, tight end Dalton Keene, defensive tackle Byron Cowart as well as linebackers Chase Winovich, Brandon King and Terez Hall.

Gilmore and Winovich were spotted at one point, though, with the former watching the action from the sidelines.

The list of absentees also included linebacker Anfernee Jennings and tight end Devin Asiasi; Asiasi recently tested positive for Covid-19. The three players on the non-football injury list — running back Rhamondre Stevenson, linebacker Cameron McGrone, defensive back Joshuah Bledsoe — were also not participating.