clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Watch: Patriots legends congratulate Richard Seymour on making the team’s Hall of Fame

Related: Richard Seymour voted into the Patriots’ Hall of Fame

Congratulations Seymour

Welcome to the club, Seymour! Congratulating the Patriots Hall of Fame's newest addition.

Posted by New England Patriots on Tuesday, May 26, 2020

While no date for the induction ceremony has been set just yet, we already know that Richard Seymour will become the latest member of the New England Patriots Hall of Fame later this year: the 40-year-old beat out fellow finalists Mike Vrabel and Bill Parcells in a fan vote to officially join the pantheon of great Patriots — a group of players that recently recorded short videos to congratulate Seymour on his selection.

The video includes the likes of his former teammate Rodney Harrison, Willie McGinest, Matt Light, Ty Law, Drew Bledsoe and Kevin Faulk, and also features all-time greats Raymond Clayborn, Andre Tippett, John Hannah, Mike Haynes, Sam Cunningham and Steve Grogan.

The Patriots’ first-round selection in 2001, Seymour spent the first eight seasons of his 12-year career in New England and appeared in 126 games for the franchise before getting traded to the Oakland Raiders in 2009. The defensive tackle played a key role in New England’s first three Super Bowl-winning runs, was voted to five Pro Bowls while with the team and named to the NFL’s Team of the 2000s.